Airline karma

Rant, and not that anyone cares, but:

Well, most of you know I have been on a trip out west to shut down “the estate.” I have returned from this trip with my faith in family and fairness restored, regardless of how things ultimately turn out. I do, however, have a couple of things to share regarding my air travel. By luck of the draw, I had emergency exit seats from CHO to IAD, from IAD to Denver, and from Denver to SNA. Total travel time from CHO to SNA was 12 hours, plus rental car time. On my return trip, from SNA to SFO and from SFO to IAD, I had 3 seats to myself, which meant I could lie down and sleep on the flights, which I did, and I hope I snored loudly to pay back the Italian brats who kept waking me up by tickling my feet and the screaming baby in the row ahead of me. All in all, it was a good flight. I highly recommend bringing shotgun ear muffs and a hat that covers your eyes on all flights.

I never would have thought that the last leg of my flight, which is a mere two hour drive by car, would have been canceled. As a result, I missed my class, pissed off my girlfriend, who was in the area but could not pick me up, and brought a rain of bad luck to her family for twenty-four hours. Still, I am back safe and sound, and nobody got hurt. We also enjoyed a great bottle of wine.

In the future, I will drive to RIC or IAD and leave my car there. I will be able to take direct, non-stop flights, and I will not be stymied by last second flight cancellations. Better to take a car and put it in long term storage than suffer layover after layover for the sake of flying out of the small and seemingly-convenient CHO, which has it own charm–it is small and has free wireless, and you can show up 30 minutes before your flight and still get on it. But the fact is this: CHO to IAD: 2 hour layover; IAD to Denver: 2.5 hour layover. Same on the way back. SNA to SFO: 2 hour layover; SFO to IAD: 1.5 hour layover with canceled flight and consequences. Next time I will drive to the airport and book a nonstop flight. My commute time will be cut from 12 hours to 7 hours.

Rant over.

Leave a Reply

