Oatmeal Red Special I.P.A. House Brew

Finally, another House ale. 10 gallons worth:
(and crap, I forgot to take an original gravity hydrometer reading).
Now that this beer has fermented, I have realized that I only have 7.5 gallons. From top of the yeast sediment to the top of the keg fermenter is 48cm. The beer topped out (from the top of the yeast sediment) at 28cm. That’s what I get for not using a proper volume dipstick on my keg. No worries, thought, the beer tastes great, and hoppy.

For the impatient, the photos are HERE.

  1. 12# light liquid malt extract;
  2. 1/2# unhopped extra light dried malt extract;
  3. 2# 120 lovibond Crystal malt;
  4. 1.5# American 2-row;
  5. 1.5# toasted American 2-row (oven 350 degrees for 12 minutes);
  6. 1/4# roasted barley (which makes a pale ale “red”);
  7. 1/2# old fashioned oats;
  8. 2 oz. Nugget (90 min.);
  9. 2 oz. Columbus + a few Cascade pellets (20 min.);
  10. 3 oz. Northern Brewer (flameout);
  11. 1 (one!) package Saf-ale US-05 dry yeast.

Strike specialty grains with 7 quarts 163 degree water and hold temperature at about 152 degrees for 1 hour.

Sparge and add water to volume of 12 gallons, allowing for malt extract displacement, for for 90 minute boil. As water warms, add malt extract (dry and liquid), as well as first hop addition. (Begin timing bittering hop addition at boil, though).

80 minutes into boil, add flavor hops: 2 oz. Centennial + about a dozen Cascade hop pellets (read, “remnants”).

At flameout, add 3 ounces Northern Brewer.

I used a hop bag for this batch, due to the fact that my kettle does not have spigot at the bottom and I have had problems with siphons clogging in the past. I also decided, out of laziness, after chilling the wort in a cool water bath, to use the kettle as a fermenter for the first few days. This is my first attempt at “open fermentation,” so I will have to report on how things turn out. If they turn out well, I will probably begin fermenting in kegs that have not been modified (save removing the “plumbing”), by using a a drilled rubber stopper and fermentation lock. The only downside to this is that I have grown fond of making 10 gallons and fermenting with 2 yeasts (after dividing the batch into two 5-gallon fermenters). If I use one large fermenter, I will not be able to use two yeasts.

On the positive side, if I get into high volume Belgian styles, I can ferment one large batch, then divide it up for various fruit additons. I love plain Gueze (and kriek, from time to time), but the tiny food girl loves peche, and framboise.

If you missed them, pictures are HERE.

Leave a Reply

